Exactly 1 month and counting…down!

Standard

One month from right now we will be heading to the airport to leave for Kenya! I’m imagining the flight as it was last time and the delirium I felt at going to the African continent. As much as Kenya has become a part of me through research, reading, and writing, there are still traces of disbelief in me. Why? I do not know! I guess it’s because as a little girl I never sat around and thought, “When I grow up, I want to go Kenya and spend whole years of my life researching female circumcision.” But I did, in fact, sit around and think, “When I grow up, I want to be a writer.” So, here I am!

With one month left until we leave, I still have quite a bit of brainstorming and planning to do for the writing project, and I still have bits of self-doubt lingering around in the corners of my mind: I want to publish magazine articles on this but I don’t know what exactly the story is and where to publish, I want to interview on certain things but I don’t know if my interviewees will open up to me about it, I want to go on a story reconstruction adventure to piece together bits of my  main subjects’ life but I don’t know if I will find anything useful. I’m working consciously on this confidence piece, and on remembering that this is all one big learning process, and it’s okay not to know!

In addition to writing project prep, I am trying to put together materials to teach 10 hours of writing intensives to Kenyan girls between the ages of 10 and 23, as well as materials to teach basic job search and interview skills for girls who are graduating secondary school.

Is your head spinning yet, or is it just mine?

I have a great amount of confidence that this will all soon come together…it always seems to.

One response »

  1. How exciting! I know the feeling 🙂

    It sounds like you have a really interesting adventure ahead of you. I’m sure your plans will come more into focus after you arrive. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

