Quinoa Salad with Bacon, Sweet Potatoes, and Beets

Standard
Quinoa Salad with Bacon, Sweet Potatoes, and Beets

Quinoa Salad with Bacon, Sweet Potatoes, and Beets

The idea for this recipe came to me last week while I was researching energy-boosting foods. I was feeling run down, mentally exhausted, and ready for bed by about 8 every night. I know….it’s a little embarrassing. And I wouldn’t stand for it! I told Alex I needed to really start doing something about my energy level, and I started reading about superfoods. According to what I read, beets are an energy-booster because the nitrates in them help your blood vessels dilate, which helps more oxygen get to working muscles. Sweet potatoes make the cut because of the high carbohydrate content. I knew it wasn’t vigorous workouts making me feel tired during the week, but since I have a job that requires me to be on my feet all day I figured I might be ‘working out’ at work a little more than I thought. As it turns out, a few days later I was laid up with an extremely vicious cold and I realized that my low energy level was probably my body’s way of telling me I was getting sick and needed some rest. Nonetheless, this super colorful superfood salad was born.

Ingredients

1 sweet potato

3 beets

1 tablespoon olive oil

4 slices of bacon

1 cup of quinoa

6 cups of salad greens

Balsamic vinegar

Makes 4 servings

Step 1: Rinse, peel, and cube the sweet potato and beets. Put the cubed beets on a cookie sheet and drizzle with olive oil. Roast the beets on 450 degrees for 15 minutes, then add the sweet potato, toss together, and roast for at least an additional 20 minutes, or until the vegetables are tender.

Step 2: While the vegetables are roasting, cook the 4 slices of bacon in a frying pan until they reach desired crispiness. When it’s finished cooking, break it up into bits.

Step 3: Cook the quinoa according to package directions.

Step 4: Stir the roasted vegetables, bacon bits, and quinoa together in the quinoa pan. Let cool for about 5 minutes.

Step 5: Serve over a bed of salad greens, and drizzle with balsamic vinegar if desired.

Leave a Reply

