Recipe Review: Thai Curry Soup (Noodles and Company Copycat)

Standard

Noodles and Company Thai Curry Soup copycat recipe.A couple of weeks ago, we got some Noodles and Company takeout with Alex’s dad, George, and his girlfriend, Liz. I ordered my usual Pad Thai, and Liz got the Thai curry soup. It caught my eye…and nose and, eventually, taste buds! I didn’t know they had such a thing! I had a slurp of the broth from her soup, and knew immediately that I had to find a copycat recipe to make at home…especially since there’s no Noodles and Company within a 30 minute drive of my house.

The curry flavor of this soup broth is not overwhelming, as it is gently sweetened by coconut milk. These flavors, along with garlic, ginger, and lemongrass, meld to create a comforting, warm (and not in the temperature kind of way!) , and curry-ifically cleansing spoonful.

The Noodles and Company Thai Curry Soup copycat recipe that I found came from Tasty Kitchen:

Ingredients:

  • 2 ounces, weight Rice Noodles (If They’re Hard To Find, Buy The Box Of Pad Thai And Only Use The Noodles)
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 3 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 2 Tablespoons Minced Lemon Grass ( If You Can’t Find It, Don’t Sweat It, Just Add Two More Tablespoons Lime Juice!)
  • 1 teaspoon Grated Fresh(or Ground Powder) Ginger
  • 2 teaspoons Red Curry Paste
  • 6 cups Chicken Broth
  • 2 Tablespoons Soy Sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon White Sugar
  • 1 can Reduced Fat Coconut Milk, 14 Ounce Can
  • ½ cups Peeled And Deveined Shrimp ( Can Substitute Chicken)
  • 4 Tablespoons Fresh Lime Juice
  • ¼ cups Snipped Cilantro
  • ½ cups Fresh Sliced Mushrooms
  • 1 bag Baby Spinach Leaves, 6 Ounce Bag

Makes 6 servings

Step 1: Heat oil in a saucepan. Stir in garlic, lemongrass, and ginger until aromatic- about 1 minute.  Add the curry paste and stir.

Step 2: Stir in 1/2 of the chicken broth (3 cups) and stir until curry paste is dissolved. Stir in the rest of the broth, along with soy sauce and sugar.

Step 3: Let it simmer for 20 minutes, covered, to let the flavors meld.

Step 4: Stir in the noodles, coconut milk, shrimp, and lime juice.  Cook until shrimp is pink and done.

Step 5: Stir in cilantro, mushrooms, and spinach and let simmer until softened.

My thoughts and things I did differently:

My biggest alteration to this recipe was that instead of using red curry paste, I used yellow curry powder. I couldn’t find red curry paste in Fraser, or red curry powder for that matter, so yellow it was! The powder still dissolved in the broth, and the curry flavor was still deliciously present even after adding the sweeter spices and the coconut milk. Next, I did not use shrimp in this recipe. When I tried Liz’s soup from Noodle’s and Company she had ordered it with tofu, and that just stuck in my mind. So, I cooked large cubes of extra firm tofu in lite soy sauce in a separate pan and topped my bowl of soup with it. This was delicious, and I love that this recipe could be made using any number of proteins: tofu, shrimp, chicken, pork, or even beans. I’ll have to try a different protein next time! Lastly, I substituted the rice noodles for Japanese (not very Thai…:) ) Udon Noodles because I had about 2 oz uncooked leftover from another meal. I had no problems with this substitution, but I definitely want to try rice noodles next time!

When I make it again, I will add more vegetables than just the mushrooms and spinach. I was thinking carrots would go nicely in this soup and maybe some bean sprouts on top. This time, I added green onion on top, and loved the extra fresh flavor and crunch that this added. I also love that this recipe could be modified to use rice or potatoes as the starch, so I might just give that a go.

This soup was easy to make and easy to eat. There are so many ways to use the same broth as a base, and modify the protein, starch, and veggies in this soup that I’m sure I will make it more than one more time. It was warm and satisfying, and made my nose run to just the right degree.

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

