Carrot Cake Oatmeal Brulee

Standard
Carrot Cake Oatmeal Brulee

Carrot Cake Oatmeal Brulee

Yesterday I was home sick from work with the beginnings of a cold. When I first woke up to call in sick, my sinuses were so stuffed up I could hardly open my eyes, and there was plenty of chest congestion and coughing to go with it. Really, I thought we were done with the time of year when cold symptoms creep up every couple of weeks. I guess I was wrong! Well, after calling in sick I drifted off to 3 more glorious hours of deep sleep. And I was dreaming of what food I would make to soothe my symptoms when I woke up. For whatever reason, this carrot cake oatmeal brulee was one of them. So, when I woke up I got to work on making this hearty dish for my breakfast. I made it in an oven-safe single-serve bowl for myself, but it could also be done for a group in a casserole dish.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups cooked oatmeal (instant or not)

1/3 cup julienne-cut carrot (about half of a carrot)

1/4 cup raisins

1/4 cup walnuts

3 teaspoons cinnamon

1/8 cup brown sugar

Step 1: Mix the cooked oatmeal, julienne-cut carrot, raisins, walnuts, cinnamon, and 1 spoonful of the brown sugar together in a single-serve, oven-safe bowl.

Step 2: Use a spoon to flatten the mixture on top.

Step 3: Spread the rest of the brown sugar evenly over the top. If you want less sugar, don’t use it all.

Step 4: Put the dish in the oven or toaster oven and broil until the brown sugar topping is bubbling and turning darker brown. WATCH CLOSELY, as timing can vary depending on your oven and how much brown sugar you use. Once this happens, remove the dish and let cool for 1-2 minutes before eating.

Leave a Reply

