Mixed Berry ‘Health’ Scones

Standard

As Alex left for an early-morning walk on Sunday, I climbed out of bed to mix up some scones and surprise him with breakfast when he returned! Something about the rainy, foggy morning put me in the baking mood, and a French cafe mood…whatever that means 🙂

I don’t think I’ve ever made scones before, and I’ve always thought of them as being difficult, but they really weren’t. I put on some French cafe Pandora, and had finished mixing and forming the scones within 15 minutes.

I based my recipe off of this one, from my favorite food blog, Begin Within Nutrition.

I  made a couple of changes: I used real butter (we didn’t have coconut oil or vegan ‘butter’ on hand), I used berries, omitted lemon, and used almond milk in my glaze instead of lemon juice.

When Alex returned, I opened the door and welcomed him to ‘France.’ Clearly, being cooped up during mud season causes me to loose my mind just a little bit!

He peered into the oven to see what was bakin’.

“Those look like health scones,” he said, warily.

“They’re gonna be good!,” I assured him. “I used real butter.”

Having just rearranged some furniture, I took advantage of some new space in front of our tall front windows and set up a little table and chairs for our cafe.

Alex made delish lattes, and we enjoyed these hot fresh scones while we watched the rain fall. It was a pretty idyllic Spring morning if you ask me 🙂

Mixed berry scones are perfect quick and easy weekend treat!

Mixed berry scones are perfect quick and easy weekend treat!

Ingredients:

For the dough:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup oat flour (made by grinding old-fashioned oats to a flour in the blender or coffee grinder)

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 cup sugar

1 TBsp chia seeds

3 TBsp butter, cold

1/3 cup vanilla almond milk

1 cup mixed berries, fresh or frozen

For the Glaze:

3/4 cup confectioner’s sugar

1 and 1/2 TBsp vanilla almond milk

Step 1: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix all dry ingredients together.

Step 2: Cut in the butter until the dough is flaky.

Step 3: Add the almond milk and mix thoroughly. Knead until smooth.

Step 4: On a floured surface, press dough into a circle, about 1 inch thick. Cut into 8-10 triangles.

Step 5: Bake for 18-20 minutes. While the scones bake, mix the ingredients for the glaze. Glaze and serve hot!

Enjoy 🙂

So glad I live with a homemade latte master!

So glad I live with a homemade latte master!

Welcome to cafe Romanyshyn :)

Welcome to cafe Romanyshyn 🙂

Leave a Reply

