Grand County will always be here

Standard

The time for Big Transition number one has arrived: school ends today, and we must learn how to adjust to new and total FREEDOM. It will be tough…

Not really šŸ™‚

But what is tough is the process of saying goodbye, realizing that we really are leaving our awesome students and staff, at least for now. This week has been a bit crazy and a bit emotional and a few tears have been shed (by me, the nostalgic one :)).

I think it’s interesting that when you get ready to leave a place, you realize with heightened clarity its many positive qualities. There have been countless times in the past three years of working with Grand County kids and families that I have stopped to appreciate the values and views, but this week especially I notice how well-behaved, funny, and kind the students at my school are; there’s almost nothing they could do in this last week that would displease me! I realize how supportive the staff is and what a beautiful view I have from the library where I work. I realize how lucky we are to have worked in a school district that values things like high school river trips and school bike day.

On the flip side of things, it seems that as we get ready to leave school people are realizingĀ our many positive qualities, and showering us with endless compliments and encouragement, things that I didn’t even know people thought about us. And, of course, there’s no shortage of, “Ohhhh I wish I were young again.” and “Do it while you’re young, before you have kids.” and just simply, “I’m jealous.”

As we talk about leaving, it’s so easy to be excited about our next step and it’s equally easy to be excited about all the amazing things we’ve experienced in Grand County and in this school district; Whether it’s in learning to work with challenging children, helping kids love books, or floating down the river with 20 high schoolers, I’ve learned that there’s little more satisfying than working with kids. Aside from living in an outdoor playground populated with an awesome community, that lesson alone makes our three years in Grand County so worth it; we wouldn’t be going where we are going next if we’d never learned that lesson! It feels good to be ending school on a positive and satisfied note, with two whole buildings full of people encouraging us on our upcoming journey, and reminding us that Grand County will always be here.

image

Leave a Reply

