When life gives you mangoes

Standard

It’s not snowing and none of our family is around. Still, it’s the holiday season. Something in my internal wiring must know so. It’s baking season. I had the urge to make a cake.

Here in Mozambique, it’s also mango season. I think I have been looking forward to mango season since long before we even arrived here. I had an offer of free mangoes for the taking. And I had a recipe from the Peace Corps Tanzania cookbook given to us by our bff.

So I made a cake. A mango cake.

P1260389_

I mixed the following:

3 and 1/2 cups flour

1 cup sugar

Approx 5 tablespoons baking powder. Use 3 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp baking soda if you have both…we only have baking powder here and mae advised me on how much a cake usually needs 🙂

2 eggs

1/3 cup (ish) oil

2 cups water. You can use milk, coconut milk, or juice too

3 cups cubed mangoes, or however much you please

P1260384_

*optional add-ins include cashews, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, toasted coconut topper, or icing. I might just try all varieties throughout this mango season!

Now, I poured this fluffy batter into a bundt pan and cooked in maes electric oven for…until mae said it was done. Perhaps an hour. But if you have a regular oven, you can cook this beauty at 350 for 50 minutes.

P1260385_

We are hosting Christmas in Mapinhane for other volunteers in our area, and I can’t wait to make this for Christmas morning. The only thing making our lack of snow okay is our abundance of mangoes 🙂

P1260357_

A green mango is still a ripe mango.

P1260374_

Winnie hangin’ around outside the house.

 

Photo creds to Alex Romanyshyn

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

